Ruthie Knox Ruthie Knox logo
Robin York logo Robin York
Archives
Search
Crazy for You

What-To-Read Wednesday: Crazy For You

Happy Wednesday!

Yesterday afternoon, I turned in a revised version of Harder to my editor. Imagine me today as a groundhog, emerging from my dark hole, blinking — which is apt, because actually I missed Groundhog Day entirely. What’s been happening since October? Anything?

*crawls back into hole*

Anyway. I’m slightly muzzy, and I read a book the other day that made me despair for humanity (no, I won’t say which one), so I’m going to tell you about this book instead, which I liked very much. Here’s the blurb—

 

Crazy for YouIn the tradition of Janet Evanovich and Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Juliet Rosetti ups the ante in her laugh-out-loud funny Escape Diaries series, as Mazie Maguire must use any means necessary to keep her main squeeze out of the slammer. 

Once you escape from prison and ride off into the sunset with the gorgeous guy who helped you nail a killer, you live happily ever after, right? Well, not exactly—not if you’re Mazie Maguire, and the flow chart of your life looks like a pinball machine. Mazie has broken up with her guy, Ben Labeck, she can’t pay her rent, her car is infested with mice, and she’s working at a coffee shop where the dress code is teddies, thongs, and toe-cleavage heels. Now Ben is the chief suspect in a murder investigation, and Mazie’s tapping into her fugitive wiles to keep him out of jail. Strictly as friends, she vows. No kissing, no touching, no romance. But how is Mazie supposed to keep her thoughts platonic when her “buddy” is giving her erotic back rubs, and a make-believe-we’re-newlyweds charade puts her in the mood for a wedding night?

 

When I was a kid, I went to the college bookstore once and found a novel with a plain, boring green cover that cost $0.99, which was far less than all the other books. I bought it because it was cheap, and it turned out that the heroine had the same name as my middle name, and the hero wrecked trucks to steal the goods for his mother and threw knives, and it was THE BEST BOOK IN THE WHOLE WORLD. Its awesomeness was gilded by the fact that as far as I knew, I was the only person in the entire world who had ever read this book, and possibly it was magical and existed only for me.

(The book was Robert C. O’Brien’s The Silver Crown.)

The way I felt about that cheap green book is a little bit how I feel about Rosetti’s books. The titles and covers and prices send a certain message, but what’s inside is nothing like what I expect, and also I feel like I might be the only person who knows it. I like that. I want to keep them for myself. But I am sharing, because I’m told it’s nice to share.

Mazie Maguire is just an ordinary ex-schoolteacher who was once accidentally imprisoned for murder. She lives in Milwaukee, she hates her job, she’s got a thing for a hot, rumpled Canadian she used to be sleeping with — but she’s not special. It’s just that crazy shit keeps happening to her, and it’s kind of her fault, but it’s kind of not her fault, too. She’s funny, likable, unflappable. The comparison of Rosetti’s style to Evanovich is apt, but Rosetti is better. The writing is smarter, the funny is funnier, and the setting is brilliant.

I like hanging out with Mazie Maguire. I want to do it more. I hope Juliet Rosetti writes additional books in this series so I can read them on days like today, when I’m blinking and disoriented and I just want to do something easy that feels good.

————

Crazy for You by Juliet Rosetti | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads

4 thoughts on “What-To-Read Wednesday: Crazy For You

  1. Hi Ruthie! Thanks for the heads up on this book. I would not have read it otherwise. Oh! No! Not another good author. When I find one I love, I have to read their whole backlist. Do you do that too?

    1. I am the opposite — I like to spread the backlist out over time and savor it! If I read too many books by the same person in a row, I get bored with them, which is sad. ;-)

  2. I’m so stinkin’ proud of the wonderful writers from my home state! It’s so much fun reading about characters in places I know intimately and can really relate to. On Wisconsin!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Follow

Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: